Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony 2017

President Tim Wynes receives Honorary Member Award

Inver Hills Community College celebrated 100 years of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during the Induction Ceremony welcoming new members to the college’s Alpha Omicron Beta chapter. The event was held Monday, October 30, 2017, in the Inver Hills Theatre in the Fine Arts building on the college’s main campus in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota.

Jenni Yamada, student life activities coordinator and chapter staff advisor, welcomed new inductees and their guests. Sommer Meyer, chapter president, presented Tim Wynes, JD, Inver Hills and Dakota County Technical College president, with the Honorary Member Award, the highest honor Phi Theta Kappa bestows on nonmembers.

Tim Wynes
Tim Wynes

Nicki Bottko, associate director of student life at Inver Hills, served as the event’s keynote speaker. Nicki was also recognized with the Five-Year Pin Award for her work as an Alpha Omicron Beta chapter advisor. Vicky Knickerbocker, humanities and human services instructor and chapter faculty advisor, did the honors. Jenni Yamada introduced the Alpha Omicron Beta officer team. Alyssa Hayden, vice president of fellowship, delivered the closing remarks.

Alpha Omicron Beta officers and advisors

Alpha Omicron Beta chapter fall 2017 inductees

  • Jason Butina
  • Sara Deegan
  • Erica DeGree
  • Josephine Etoll-Neveu
  • Annasia Ford-McCollum
  • Anton Harter
  • Alyssa Hayden
  • Jordan Hoeger
  • Alison Knudson
  • Lokho Kotile
  • Carlos Matos Vasquez
  • Kelly McKenzie
  • Fidelis Nkeih
  • Michelle Quade
  • Kaylyn Schreiber
  • Rachel Tetzloff
  • Megan Tinucci
  • Mary William

For more event photos:

Visit Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony Fall 2017 on Flickr.

PTK Induction Ceremony Fall 2017

Golden Apple Awards

Each semester, new inductees present Golden Apple Awards to a select number of faculty and staff. The award commemorates service to students that goes above and beyond the ordinary.

Golden Apple Award winners for fall semester 2017
  • Angela Gallant
  • Steven Hartlaub
  • Jon Jensen
  • Emily Johnson
  • Judith Morgan
  • Thomas Reis
  • Tanya Smutka
  • Brad Thorpe
  • Melissa Troen
  • David Ussatis
  • Erika Wood

Phi Theta Kappa mission:

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students.

To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

— Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Constitution and Bylaws

More about the Alpha Omicron Beta chapter…

Alpha Omicron Beta is one of the five largest and most awarded of the 70 chapters in our three-state region of Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota. Each semester, chapter members actively participate in meetings, volunteer opportunities and leadership roles. Everyone is invited to join us in our work.

You can connect with Alpha Omicron Beta Mondays from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m. in College Center Room 117 during weekly member and officer meetings. You can also stop by the Phi Theta Kappa and Student Senate office near the Fresh Stop Café.

To learn more about Phi Theta Kappa at Inver Hills, contact:

Vicky Knickerbocker
Humanities and Human Services Faculty
Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Advisor

Nicki Bottko
Associate Director of Student Life
Phi Theta Kappa Staff Advisor

Jenni Yamada
Student Life Activities Coordinator
Phi Theta Kappa Staff Advisor

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *