Tim Wynes Receives Gordon Award

Tim Wynes

Phi Theta Kappa bestows prestigious national honor on Inver Hills college president

Tim Wynes, JD, president of Inver Hills Community College and Dakota County Technical College, was recently honored by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society National Center for Excellence​ with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction. College presidents receive this prestigious national award based on their exemplary support and promotion of the Phi Theta Kappa mission: Recognizing the academic achievements of two-year college students while providing opportunities for all students to grow as scholars and leaders.

Tim Wynes, JD
Tim Wynes, JD

“One of the great joys of my career in education has been my connection with Phi Theta Kappa,” President Wynes said. “It is a privilege to be among a select group of community and technical college presidents honored by Phi Theta Kappa with the Gordon Award of Distinction. PTK students are citizen-scholars. They are outstanding students committed to community involvement. That is a direct reflection of the efforts of faculty and Student Life leadership.”
Wynes went on to say that students belonging to the Alpha Beta Omicron chapter on the Inver Hills campus led a drive to reduce plastic water bottle usage, provided students a safe space to offer their opinions on matters big and small, and made valuable public service videos for Inver students.
“I appreciate that PTK faculty adviser, Vicky Knickerbocker, and our PTK student leaders consult with me on their annual projects so I may reduce or eliminate any barriers,” Wynes said. “The students never fail to be engaged, bright and committed to Inver Hills. I share the award with them and our college.”
President Wynes has been invited to accept the Gordon Award at the Phi Theta Kappa centennial convention, PTK Catalyst 2018, in Kansas City, Missouri, April 19-21, 2018.

More about the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction…

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. Nominees should have served as president at least three years at the current institution as of December 6, 2017, and demonstrated during their tenure a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa.
As many as 25 Gordon Awards may be presented annually. A college president or campus CEO may receive this award only once. College presidents or campus CEOs of postsecondary institutions with an active Phi Theta Kappa chapter are eligible for this award. Nominees will accept their awards while attending Phi Theta Kappa’s centennial convention, PTK Catalyst 2018, in Kansas City, Missouri, April 19-21, 2018.

PTK Faculty Scholar Vicky Knickerbocker is a member of the sociology, humanities and human services faculty at Inver Hills. Knickerbocker serves as a faculty advisor for the PTK Alpha Omicron Beta chapter at the college. She also serves as regional coordinator for Minn-Kota, the PTK organization that supports the society’s activities for Minnesota, South Dakota and North Dakota.
“I believe that Tim is very deserving of this honor as he has been a strong supporter of Phi Theta Kappa initiatives on this campus for some time,” Knickerbocker said. “He has actively encouraged Phi Theta Kappas to be committed academic scholars and responsible servant leaders by consistently attending their induction ceremonies, working with them collaboratively to successfully complete their college and Honors in Action Projects, and personally applauding their academic achievements.”
Knickerbocker noted that President Wynes has attended the All-Minnesota Academic Team celebration numerous times and has made certain students selected as honorees for this event receive foundation scholarships.
“This year two Inver Hills students, Amanda Turner and Sommer Meyer, will each receive a $500 scholarship as members of the prestigious All-Minnesota Academic Team,” Knickerbocker added. “They are two of forty-eight students across the state of Minnesota to receive this academic honor.”

More about President Wynes…

Tim Wynes, JD, has served as president of Inver Hills Community College since 2010. He began serving as interim president at Dakota County Technical College in July 2013 and became president in July 2015. Previously, he served from 2002–2010 as chancellor of the Iowa Valley Community College District and from 1996–2002 as executive dean of grants and governmental affairs at Indian Hills Community College in Ottumwa, Iowa.
Wynes served as the full-time faculty at the University of Missouri School of Law and as an adjunct at Iowa State University, Buena Vista University, St. Ambrose University, the University of Missouri Graduate School of Social Work and Missouri Southern State College.
Wynes holds a bachelor’s degree from Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, a juris doctorate from Saint Louis University School of Law in St. Louis, Misssouri, and has completed coursework in the doctorate program in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Iowa State University.
In October 2017, President Wynes received the Phi Theta Honorary Member Award at the fall semester Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony.

More about Alpha Omicron Beta…

Alpha Omicron Beta is one of the five largest and most awarded of the 70 chapters in our three-state region of Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota. Each semester, chapter members actively participate in meetings, volunteer opportunities and leadership roles. Everyone is invited to join us in our work.
You can connect with Alpha Omicron Beta Mondays from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m. in College Center Room 117 during weekly member and officer meetings. You can also stop by the Phi Theta Kappa and Student Senate office near the Fresh Stop Café.

To learn more about Phi Theta Kappa at Inver Hills, contact:

Vicky Knickerbocker
Humanities and Human Services Faculty
Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Advisor
Nicki Bottko
Associate Director of Student Life
Phi Theta Kappa Staff Advisor
Jenni Yamada
Student Life Activities Coordinator
Phi Theta Kappa Staff Advisor

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *